About KISS

KISS is organized as a four prong approach to the care of acute stroke.

  1. Organize and partner with EMS to provide screening, evaluation, and routing to ensure the fastest and safest delivery of care.
  2. Provide Education and support to ANY hospital that desires assistance in evaluation and treatment of stroke.
  3. Assist with the transport and evaluation/treatment through a network of both Primary and Comprehensive Stroke Centers;
  4. Improve the publics knowledge of stroke to provide the opportunity for treatment.

How does KISS do this?

  1. By providing free education at all levels for providers in each of the 6 ambulance regions in the state of Kansas through Stroke Bootcamps, “First Tuesdays” 30 minute stroke webinars, and statewide case reviews.
  2. By providing a free Physician 24/7 stroke support line to assist with the evaluation and decision on treatment/transfer for any of your stroke patients.
  3. Certification/Attestation for Emergency Stroke Ready Hospital. (see Resources)


  1. University of Kansas Health System – Vascular Neurology Group
  2. Stormont-Vail Healthcare – Hospitalists
  3. Ascension Via-Christi Wichita – Neuro-Critical Care Team

Kansas Initiative for Stroke Survival Executive Board

Many of the members of the KISS executive board have participated in this initiative since 2011. There are members of varying backgrounds (Vascular Neurologist, Emergency Physicians, Intensivist, Hospitalists, Nurse Leadership, Stroke Coordinators, Administration and EMS) from different regions of the state.  Our common goal is to improve acute stroke care for our patients across the state.

Colleen Lechtenberg  MD (Chair) The University of Kansas Health System
Alan Reeves MD The University of Kansas Health System
Janice Sandt  RN The University of Kansas Health System
Tony Nunn  RN The University of Kansas Health System
Sarah Langston RN The University of Kansas Health System
Kristina Willour RN Ascension Via Christi Wichita
Wyssem Ramdani MD Ascension Via Christi Wichita
Hartej Sethi MD Stormont Vail Healthcare
Angela Mendez RN Stormont Vail Healthcare
Carol Groen  RN Hays Med – The University of Kansas Health System
Mindy Olberding  RN Community Healthcare System
Nick Robbins  EMT-P Franklin County EMS
Angela Welch  RN Advent Health Ottawa
Julia Pyle COO, CNO Newman Regional Health
Rod Pace RN, EMT-P Air Medical Group  KS
Jeremiah Ostmeyer MD Salina Regional Health Center
Tim Stebbins MD Ascension Via Christi Pittsburg
Naomi Powers  RN Ascension Via Christi Pittsburg
Jessica Cobb RN Ascension Via Christi Pittsburg
Brittan Zuccarelli MD Salina Regional Health